Summer dry but garden going strong

20140731-093004-34204912.jpg
It’s hard to believe it’s the last day of July and I’ve only got less than two weeks left to enjoy my last Wisconsin garden. And, despite the lack of attention I’ve been able to give the fruits, veggies and flowers this summer, it’s doing just beautifully.

The raspberry patch has been producing a half- to full ice cream pail of berries every couple days. Japanese beetles are back, too, but they only seem to be affecting leaves (photo below). Daughter Cassie and I have been thoroughly enjoying them for meals, along with lettuce, beans and peas.

The tomato plants are full of green tomatoes, and I hope the new owners of our house enjoy them. They smell wonderful – I’m really disappointed I won’t get to eat any! Dill, like previous summers, has popped up in a variety of spots in the garden, as have volunteer tomatoes and cosmos I had planted last year. In fact, I weeded out most of the volunteer tomato plants, just leaving a handful here and there. I’m going to miss those volunteers – I have no idea yet what kind of a garden I’ll be able to have in Texas, but I really, really, really hope it will be able to include tomatoes. Not sure what I would do if I couldn’t have access to that intoxicating tomato plant smell!

The flowers in my garden have been a pleasant surprise this year, too. If you don’t remember, I decided to do more flowers this year than veggies because of the move, hoping they would be easier to maintain. Which they have – and they’ve been really pretty, too.

The cosmos and marigolds were all from last year’s seed, and they’re both starting to flower. I was really happy to see the flowers because there have been times in the past when my own seed did not flower the next year. But the pink and purple cosmos have started opening, as have some of the marigolds. Very pretty! And, speaking of pretty, the zinnias and (Mexican, I think) sunflowers I planted from garden store seed this year definitely fit the bill. The zinnias especially, in a variety of pinks, yellows, reds or oranges. They look great among all the regular garden greens. So do the sunflowers along the back row of the garden. The little orange flowers are really cute and so different from the traditional sunflower. I actually had a volunteer sunflower from last year’s giant sunflowers I planted. It’s pretty easy to spot in the middle of the garden.

As the title of this post suggests, it’s been a dry July, at least until this past week, when we finally got about an inch of rain. Fortunately, I was able to water enough. Mother Nature’s rain is much better though.

Wisconsin garden, thanks for a lot of great memories, fruits, veggies and flowers. Texas garden, here I come!

20140731-093144-34304258.jpg

20140731-093145-34305786.jpg

20140731-093321-34401732.jpg

20140731-093322-34402350.jpg

4 responses to this post.

  1. Raspberries!! We should be so lucky. It’s so humid here that we depend solely on the wild-grown versions (dewberries) that are prolific thru April. Zinnias are the happy flower, second only to the sunflower.

    I’ll be you are really going to miss that garden space. Texas will keep you challenged for growing edibles, but there is a whole different variety that will blow your mind (citrus, avacado, mango, peach) and taste bud! My tomatoes are still prolifically producing — have been since June. Little bites of sunshine.

    Cheers, Julie! And safe travels.

    • I think I’m really going to need your advice once I start gardening in Texas! We’ll be in Georgetown, although not til late August or early September, depending on when our house is finished (so excited to have a new house!). From mid-August until the house is ready, we’ll be renting in Austin, so I don’t think there’ll be much gardening. But I’m sure that by October, I’ll be raring to go! I’ll definitely be in touch.

  2. Raccoons pulled down our raspberry canes and had a feast, so I’m envious of your harvest. Our cherry tomatoes are ripening, but we are anxiously awaiting our first ripe beefsteak and heirloom tomatoes. Here’s hoping the new owners appreciate all the effort you put into your well-kept garden.

    • Sorry to hear a out your raspberries. The deer would feast on ours if we didn’t have a fence. I’m envious of your ripe tomatoes, too! Oh what I would give for ONE ripe tomato before I leave!

Comments are closed.

